Mendelssohn's First & "Reformation"

Published in Masterworks

February 22-23 | 8 PM Abravanel Hall

Thierry Fischer, Conductor
David Yavornitzky, Contrabass

Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 1 in C minor
Henze - Concerto per contrabbasso (1966)
Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 5 in D major, "Reformation"

The next cycle concludes. Thierry Fischer's Mendelssohn Symphony retrospective comes to an end with the first and last members of the set. Written only six years apart, these works frame a short but powerful symphony career. No. 1 is a delightfully youthful and Mozartian, with all the hallmarks of a genius in the making. "Reformation" was composed in commemoration of an important event in Protestant history and uses the hymn "A Mighty Fortress is our God" as the basis for the finale. For contrast, the program also includes a concerto for double bass by contemporary music icon Hans Werner Henze.

Additional Info

  • Program:

    Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, op. 11
                                        I.  Allegro di molto
                                        II.  Andante
                                        III.  Menuetto: Allegro molto
                                        IV.  Allegro con fuoco
    Hans Werner Henze - Concerto per contrabbasso (1966)
                                         I. Moderato cantabile
                                         II. Vivace
                                         III. Ciacona

    Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 5 in D Major, op. 107, "Reformation"
                                          I. Andante - Allegro con fuoco
                                          II. Allegro vivace
                                          III. Andante
                                          IV. Chorale: Andante con moto - Allegro vivace

  • Student Tickets:

    Youth in grades 2– 12 (age 8 and older) can enjoy this Utah Symphony performance for $10. Click here for details on youth tickets.

    If you are 30 or younger, discounted tickets are available for this performance through USUO's Upbeat program. Click here for details on Upbeat.

  • Program Notes:

    Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, op. 11
    Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 5 in D Major, op. 107, "Reformation"

  • Artist Profile:

    Principal Bassist of the Utah Symphony since 1988, David Yavornitzky has performed as concerto soloist, participated in U.S. and International tours, and has collaborated with many of the world's finest conductors and guest artists. David also holds the position of Professor of Double Bass at the University of Utah, where he maintains an active teaching studio. Several of his students have won statewide and national solo double bass competitions.  He is a tireless proponent of contemporary music, having had compositions written for him, as well as having given important premieres of contemporary works. As a conductor, David has led many diverse ensembles, including area youth, collegiate and professional orchestras, and he has conducted several Utah premieres of contemporary works with the Nova Chamber Music Series. In 200-10 David was appointed to the position of Cover Conductor for the Utah Symphony's educational programs.

    David attended Baldwin-Wallace College and Conservatory, where he earned degrees in both musical performance and in theoretical physics. His double bass teachers include the late Anthony Knight of the Cleveland Orchestra and Edwin Barker, Principal Bass of the Boston Symphony.  He is an alumnus of the Tanglewood Music Center Fellowship program and was awarded its C.D. Jackson prize for outstanding achievement.