Mendelssohn's "Italian" Symphony

Published in Masterworks

February 8-9 | 8 PM Abravanel Hall

Thierry Fischer, Conductor
Baiba Skride, Violin


Elgar - In the South
Stravinsky - Concerto in D major for Violin and Orchestra (1961 revision)
Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 4 in A major, "Italian"

The Utah Symphony's cycle of Mendelssohn Symphonies continues. Italy has long been a source of inspiration for visiting artists of every sort. Mendelssohn began composing his 4th Symphony while traveling there and it conveys his impressions of the people, nature and artistic culture of the country. Thanks to an instantly memorable opening theme and the rousing dance rhythms of the finale, the "Italian" has become his most popular symphony. Elgar's own bright musical excursion to the Italian town of Alassio and Stravinsky's witty, Bach-influenced Violin Concerto complete the program.

Additional Info

  • Program:

    Edward Elgar - In the South, op. 50, "Alassio"
    Igor Stravinsky - Concerto in D Major for Violin and Orchestra (1961 revision)
                                  I. Toccata
                                  II. Aria I
                                  III. Aria II
                                  IV. Capriccio
    Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 4 in A Major, op. 90, "Italian"
                                        I. Allegro vivace
                                        II. Andante con moto
                                        III. Con moto moderato
                                        IV. Saltarello: Presto

  • Student Tickets:

    Youth in grades 2– 12 (age 8 and older) can enjoy this Utah Symphony performance for $10. Click here for details on youth tickets.

    If you are 30 or younger, discounted tickets are available for this performance through USUO's Upbeat program. Click here for details on Upbeat.

  • Program Notes:

    Edward Elgar - In the South, op. 50, "Alassio"
    Igor Stravinsky - Concerto in D Major for Violin and Orchestra
    Felix Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 4 in A Major, op. 90, "Italian"

  • Artist Profile:

    Baiba Skride has appeared with prestigious orchestras such as the Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunk, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, Orchestre de Paris, Philharmonia Orchestra, Sydney Symphony and the US orchestras of Philadelphia, Houston and Cincinnati. Conductors she regularly collaborates with include Charles Dutoit, Thierry Fischer, Paavo Järvi, Neeme Järvi, John Storgårds and with her peers, Andris Nelsons , Kirill Petrenko and Vasily Petrenko.

    Recent highlights included Baiba Skride’s much anticipated debut with the Berlin Philharmonic playing Berg “To the memory of an Angel” with Andris Nelsons.  The 2011/12 season sees their close collaborations continue with the Philharmonia Orchestra London performing Bruch violin concerto No.1 and with City of Birmingham Orchestra. She opens her Mozart residency with the RTE National Symphony Dublin performing all Mozart violin concertos and the Sinfonia Concertante. Skride performs with the Danish National Symphony and Thomas Sondergård, Stockholm Philharmonic and Niklas Willen, the Helsinki Philharmonic and Olari Elts, the Vienna Radio Symphony and Cornelius Meister, the Tonkünstler Orchester and John Storgårds, the Staatskapelle Weimar, the Czech Philharmonic and the Orquesta Sinfonica de Castilla y Leon.

    In the USA Baiba Skride’s highlights include debuts with the Cleveland Orchestra at their Blossom Music Festival with Bramwell Tovey and further afield with the Boston Symphony and Andris Nelsons performing Shostakovich’s violin concerto No 2.